Skip to main content

Getting to Know Our Team 2: Victor

13th October 2020
Reading Time
1 minute
GWS Team

The second in a series of occasional articles about our employees in 2020

Please tell us about your professional background before you joined GWS.

I pretty much studied all my life. I did a lot of courses and tried to look for a design-related job but due to Spain's economy, finding a job and work on your chosen field was quite tough. For a short period of time I worked in a marketing agency as a layout designer where I worked for some big companies in the wholesaling industry.

I joined GWS not long after coming to the UK.


Please take us through the kinds of things you do in your job at GWS in a typical week

On a daily basis I am usually focused on the design side like creating a new design for a client (new website, logo, brochure, app, etc) or tweaking existing designs if a client has requested it or would like to see an improvement without investing too much time on it.

From time to time I do content insertion when a new website is under development.

Sometimes I also do a bit of basic web development with HTML and CSS.


Which aspects of the job you enjoy the most?

I really enjoy when we start a new project (web, app, logo, etc) because this means that the client wants a fresh look and feel for their brand. But other satisfying aspect can be seeing a project come to an end and seeing it live.


What has been your biggest achievement / something you are really proud of?

Move to the UK and start pretty much from scratch. Can be tough but definitely worth it.


Websites and Digital marketing are constantly evolving. What changes do you see happening lately that affect the work you do in your role (be it design, development, SEO, copywriting or social media)?

In terms of design, websites are always changing. It always depends on what's trending that year. Sometimes you'd want to make something fancy following trends and sometimes you'd want to make something more timeless that will last for years.


What are some of your hobbies and interests outside work?

I enjoy playing video games, it's my all-time favourite hobby to disconnect or read a book, paint something or play board games to get away from technology.


How have you found adapting to a different way of working during the lock-down?

It's been quite eye-opening in some aspects. The amount of time you can save without having to commute is insane. I also found that I am as productive if not even more as you can have an environment in which you can feel quite comfortable without disrupting others - like having background music for example. I think it's been positive in general, same productivity and more free time, also communication it's been great with all the tools available nowadays and the work-flow hasn't changed at all, a perk of working with digital content I guess.


Have you got any work hacks you could share?

Not really, every designer have their own techniques and it can be a personal approach depending on the subject. We all suffer from creativity-blocks though. In my experience, I learnt to not stress it too much because the idea you were looking for will eventually click and everything will flow from that point!


Where do you look for inspiration: a person, a blog, a brand?

I always crawl the same websites like Awwwards, Dribbble, Behance, Pinterest, etc. There are a lot of talented people out there and a quick glance a something can spark the creativity or idea you were looking for.


Quick fire round:

Tea or coffee?

Both. Depends on the day really, but I do prefer coffee.

Favourite biscuit?

I am sweet tooth kind of person so it's hard to choose only one, but I really like digestives covered in dark chocolate.

Omnivore or vegetarian?


Mac or Windows?

For general use and gaming I prefer Windows, but when I am working I prefer Mac, it feels more organized and accessible. But I feel comfortable with both overall.

Favourite genres of music (e.g. classical, jazz, blues, folk, country, pop, rock, metal, disco, house, rap, trance, EDM)?

Rap, industrial, electronic, metal, videogame / movie soundtracks etc.

5 musical artists you enjoy listening to?

Hard to say but some recurring artists can be Eminem, Combichrist, Tote King, Snoop Dogg, Wiz Khalifa, Iron Maiden, 2Pac, etc.

All-time favourite song?

Hard to answer as I don't feel too attached to music to have an all-time favourite. It changes depending on the day or the mood.

Favourite chart song of the past two years?


Morning or night person?

A bit of both depending of what I have to do the next day. I love sleeping but I don't mind waking up early.

Favourite subject(s) at school?

Arts and design, also technology and PE.

Cereal or toast?

Both, but cereal is faster so I usually go with cereal.

Item you couldn’t live without?

Nothing really, but I'd say that a smartphone as become a huge tool nowadays and we need to use it for practically everything.

Work-life balance or workaholic?

Work-life balance.

Favourite country?

Hard to choose but I will have to go with Spain this time. Beautiful country and amazing cuisine.

Thing you’ve missed most in lock-down?

Family and friends and not being able to travel at will.

Want to succeed online?

GWS Media have over two decades of experience in all areas of online marketing work, from logo design and website design and development to copywriting, content marketing, SEO and email marketing. Contact us today for a chat about your project, and we'll be delighted to see if we can help.

Start a project